AECOM Student Award

ACENZ with the support of AECOM present the Best Practical Work Report Award (student award) to encourage the next generation of consultants and engineers to develop good written communication skills. Concise, readable reports are essential to the business of consulting and engineering.

ACENZ seeks to enhance engineering consultancy through superior business skills, technical expertise and professional standards. Above all, ACENZ recognises the importance of communication skills in conveying a technical proposal or solution to an ever more discerning customer.


Who's eligible?

We invite final year students pursuing a Washington Accord Bachelor of Engineering who have completed their practical work requirement with an ACENZ Member firm to consider applying. Students then submit their reports to their practical work coordinator or similar staff at their university. A student cannot directly apply to ACENZ. The university then chooses up to 6 candidates to submit to ACENZ for consideration.


What's the prize?

Up to three winners can be chosen to each receive the following:

  • cash prize of $1,500
  • complimentary registration to attend the ACENZ Annual Conference
  • two tickets for the winner and a guest to attend the Awards of Excellence Gala Dinner
  • travel and accommodation to attend the Awards Gala Dinner (return flight and one night of accommodation)

Note that the winners must be present at the Awards Gala Dinner to receive their prize. Failure to attend will disqualify the winner from claiming other prizes. The date of the Awards Gala Dinner can be found on the INNOVATE Awards page or by contacting a member of the ACENZ staff.


Past Winners


2017-Student-Winners---Web-Thumbnail.jpg 2016_Student_Winners_-_Web_Thumbnail.jpg 2015_Student_Winners_-_Web_Thumbnail.jpg


2018 Winners

  • Miguel Montalla, University of Auckland
  • Mathew Waghorn, University of Canterbury
  • Sheryl Wong, University of Canterbury


2017 Winners

  • Edward Hong, Auckland University of Technology (AUT)
  • Hayley Byun, University of Auckland
  • Michael Kennerley, University of Auckland


2016 Winners

  • Natalie Oliver-Caldwell, University of Auckland
  • Scott Cameron, University of Auckland
  • Theodore Carlos, University of Auckland


2015 Winners

  • Luke Boyle, University of Auckland
  • Sarah Novis, University of Auckland
  • Robyn Findlay, University of Auckland