Originally established as the consulting arm of IPENZ (now Engineering New Zealand) in 1959 ACE New Zealand was born (evolved from the New Zealand Institution of Engineering-NZIE, The Professional Engineers' Association-PEA, and the Consulting Engineers' Division of the NZIE). See our full timeline history of the organisation


We now operate as ACE New Zealand or the Association of Consulting and Engineering. Our membership is composed of companies and firms rather than individuals. We provide value to members through business practice and commercial guidance, promoting fair and reasonable terms of engagement to clients, and representing member interests in the public sector. 

Honorary life members

From time to time, ACE New Zealand recognise long-term commitment and volunteer service by individuals to the association through bestowing honorary life membership. This prestigious standing is currently held by the following individuals:

Year Name Location
1972 E R Garden Deceased (1999)
1990 R M McLeay Retired, Christchurch 
1990 G S Beca  Deceased (2001) 
1992 Steve Gentry  Retired, Wellington 
2001 Alec McCulloch  Retried, Auckland 
2012 Ken Shores  Retired, Auckland 
2012 George Butcher  Retired, Masterton 
2012 Ian Fraser  Retired, Wellington 
2012 Murray Spicer  MacDonald Barnett, Auckland 
2012 Adam Thornton  Dunning Thornton, Wellington 
2012 Arthur Park  Clendon, Burns & Park, Wellington 
2012 Don Houchen  Deceased (2013) 
2012 Enrico Vink  FIDIC, Switzerland 
2016 Allan Leahy  MWH, Auckland 
2016 Andrew Charleson  Victoria University, Wellington 
2016 David Bridges  Good Earth Matters, Palmerston North 
2016 Peter Riley  Riley Consultants (Retired), Auckland 
2016 Bob Nelligan  RJ Nelligan, Auckland 
2016 Ernst Sansom  Melrose Property Consultancy, Auckland 
2016 Gavin Still  Deceased (2019) 
2016 Ray O'Callaghan  O'Callaghan Design Limited, Wellington 
2016 Stephen Jenkins  Aurecon, Wellington 
2016 Andrew Read  Pedersen Read, Christchurch 
2016 Brent Meekan  Beca, Auckland 
2016 Graham Chapman  AECOM, Auckland 
2016 Lyall Green  Design Management Consultants, Hamilton 
2017 Keryn Kliskey  Opus International Consultants, Auckland 
2019 Alistair Cattanach Dunning Thornton Consultants, Wellington
2019 Brett Harries Stantec, Auckland