Past FLA Finalists

Being named a Future Leader Award Finalist is no small feat. Entrants must be nominated by a senior manager within their firm, so already they have been identified as a rising star within their company. Applicants are evaluated on a variety of factors including the ability to demonstrate leadership capability in both work and within the community. They must show a commitment to professional development and in recent years, an interview by our panel of judges. 

Those individuals who are named a finalist are high achievers who have and will continue to contribute to the success and elevation of the industry and profession of consulting and engineering. We would like to recognise those who have been named finalists as well as our winners over the years.






Winner - Weng Yuen Kam (Kam) of Beca

Weng Yuen Kam (Kam) is a Senior Associate and a Team Leader with Beca Auckland Structure. His recent projects include seismic advisor to ANZ Bank, structural lead for SKYCITY's Hobson Street Hotel, the University of Auckland's Recreation and Wellness Centre, and lead verifier for the Groningen Seismic Strengthening Project in the Netherlands. Kam is a recognised leader in seismic engineering in Beca and New Zealand. He has made significant contributions to technical standards and practice in the seismic assessment of earthquake prone buildings. In recognition of his contributions, he was made a Fellow of the New Zealand Society for Earthquake Engineering (NZSEE) in 2018 and received their President's Award in 2017. He was a finalist in the New Zealand Young Engineer of the Year award in 2014. He obtained his B.Eng (Hons) and B.Com in 2006 and PhD in 2011, both from the University of Canterbury.

Finalist - Robert Lane of Lewis Bradford Consulting Engineers

Robert is a design and construction professional specialising in structural engineering and is a Chartered Engineer with the Institution of Structural Engineers (UK). Starting his engineering career in Dublin, Robert moved to London to complete a Masters in Advanced Structural Engineering at Imperial College and worked locally there for five years. Moving to Christchurch in 2012, Robert joined Lewis Bradford Consulting Engineers and is currently as Associate and Senior Structural Engineer at the firm. Robert leads teams of engineers and technicians in delivering high quality building projects with a strong focus on integrated design to improve client and wider community outcomes. Robert is a strong believer in instigating change from the bottom up, exploring new ways of forming teams and creating projects with the goal of improving the construction industry and generating value through mutually beneficial results. 

Finalist - Thomas Small of Jacobs

Thomas Small was appointed Director of Operations - New Zealand Transport at Jacobs in 2016. His role is to grow and diversify the Transportation discipline across the New Zealand business; executing a head count of approximately 160 professionals and a revenue of approximately $40 million per annum. The group has diversified significantly under Thomas' leadership to respond to the changing needs of the clients and the way projects need to be delivered in a highly political setting. Clients repeatedly commend Thomas for his 'client orientated focus' and excellent communication and management skills. The Transport group has successfully delivered over 100 projects, although not directly involved in them all on a day to day basis, Thomas often participates with a governance role on the more challenging or complex projects. As a Civil Engineer with over 11 years' infrastructure experience, Thomas has worked across New Zealand and is based nationally between the Wellington, Auckland, Christchurch, and Waikato office, leading 160 staff. Thomas sits on the NZ Leadership Team, conveying an excellent skills set, comprising of operations management, project management, design and contract management. 




2017-FLA-Winner-CT---Web-Thumbnail.jpg 2017-FLA-Finalist-CM---Web-Thumbnail.jpg 2017-FLA-Finalist-COD---Web-Thumbnail.jpg 2017-FLA-Finalist-SM---Web-Thumbnail.jpg


2017 Winner - Clare Tolan of Harrison Grierson

2017 Finalist - Catherine Morar (of Aurecon at the time of award)

2017 Finalist - Carla O'Donnell of WSP Opus

2017 Finalist - Steph McLeod of Stantec




2016-FLA-Winner-JV---Web-Thumbnail.jpg 2016-FLA-Finalist-MB---Web-Thumbnail.jpg 2016-FLA-Finalist-AJ---Web-Thumbnail.jpg Blank_White_Cover.jpg


2016 Winner - Jenson Varghese of MRCagney

2016 Finalist - Matt Bishop of BVT

2016 Finalist - Andrea Jarvis of Holmes Consulting Group