Special Awards

Every so often, there comes an opportunity, a project, a person(s) or community's effort, which just don't fit appropriately into one of our other existing award structures. When that happens, by a special vote of the Board, ACENZ can award and acknowledge the outstanding effort and achievement within our industry. We want to recognise the contribution and achievement of the below Special Award recipients.

Past Special Award Recipients



Christchurch: Our Underground Story

Christchurch: Our Underground Story by Phil Wilkins and illustrated by Martin Coates, is the story of the Stronger Christchurch Infrastructure Rebuild Team (SCIRT) and the rebuilding of Christchurch's in ground infrastructure as told by engineers for children. This is an amazing story brought to life in picture book form. It tells the story of the rebuild of Christchurch following the earthquakes. The book seeks to educate and inspire young minds about the world of engineering, simplify the complexity of engineering and encourage a wider understanding to the importance of the work engineers undertake. 

Written by Beca engineer Phil Wilkins, and illustrated by Beca engineer Martin Coates, this inspirational and inspiring book lifts the lid on our underground services, exposing the infrastructure with lift up flaps which tell the story. The complexities of rebuilding infrastructure and returning life to normal after an earthquake are vast. The authors have used innovative techniques to present complex information in a simple way that is interesting, funny and easy to relate to.

This book tells a remarkable story, dispels the myth that engineers can't communicate and opens young minds to new ideas and concepts. It is truly innovative and excellent.



Acknowledging the Consulting Industry's Collaboration in the Rebuild of Christchurch's Public Infrastructure

The devastation and destruction caused by the Christchurch Earthquakes was of an unprecedented scale in New Zealand in recent times. This award is to recognise the contribution of both ACENZ Members and non-member firms to the collaborative working arrangement for the infrastructure rebuild, and for demonstrating that, by working together, we are stronger.

Firms acknowledged include: AECOM, Aurecon, Beca, David Lovell Smith, E2 Environmental, GHD, Jacobs, MWH (now Stantec), Opus, Pattle Delamore Partners,WM Group, and Woods.

Repairing and reinstating the public infrastructure required an innovative and collaborative approach. The award recognises this effort, which included early response and teamwork between firms to address, maintain and renew earthquake-damaged infrastructure. 

Together, the firms facilitated the framework that enabled consultants to deliver critical engineering solutions. It was the leadership of ACENZ Member firms and others that led to these innovative and collaborative processes. Christchurch and the people of New Zealand have benefited from the unwavering commitment of ACENZ Members and other firms who offered their selfless service during this critical time.