Student Award

Expose your engineering potential with the ACE New Zealand Student Award. 

2019 Student Award winners Helena Li, Will Meng and Kurt Haywood with ACE president, Ida Dowling and AECOM Managing Director, Craig Davidson

See how you stack up against tomorrow’s engineering leaders by entering the Student Award to be into win $1,500 cash.

You are about to start your exciting career in engineering. Whether supervising a busy workshop, undertaking research, designing buildings or building bridges, the work will be technically interesting, intellectually challenging and immensely varied. Engineering consultancy involves business management, entrepreneurship and client care. 

Who can enter

Entry is open to students who: 

  • are in their final year of the Washington Accord Bachelor of Engineering, and 

  • have completed the practical work requirement with an ACE New Zealand Member firm

How do I apply

Submit your Practical Work Report to your practical work coordinator at your university. They'll then review and submit up to six candidates for judging. Entry forms have been sent to your Work Coordinator. 

Details of the format and composition of the Practical Work Report are within your degree prescription.

Finalists nominated are judged by a panel of ACE New Zealand judges on the following:

  • Ability to describe the work undertaken

  • Observations of how the workplace operates and how you as the student fitted into this structure

  • Value of the work experience and relevance to your engineering career

  • Report writing skills, including layout, spelling, grammar and other technical report skills

The award is based on your ability to describe the work experience rather than the tasks undertaken.

Entries are to be restricted to a maximum of 25 pages, including attachments.

ACE New Zealand asks that you allow your name and name of your employer (company name) to be included in publicity material about the award. No details of your employer’s workplace or any of the work you undertook during the work experience will be made public without prior approval.


Up to three winners can be chosen to each receive a cash prize of $1,500 and a day pass to the 2021 Future Fit Aotearoa ACE New Zealand conference.

Previous winners


  • Xiaowei Lin, The University of Auckland
  • Matthew Payne, University of Auckland
  • Sabrina Wong, University of Auckland


  • Alice Ying, University of Auckland

  • Githmi Amarasekera, University of Auckland

  • Devina Shedde, University of Auckland


  • Will Meng, University of Auckland

  • Kurt Haywood, University of Auckland

  • Helena Li, University of Auckland


  • Miguel Montalla, University of Auckland

  • Mathew Waghorn, University of Canterbury

  • Sheryl Wong, University of Canterbury


  • Edward Hong, Auckland University of Technology (AUT)

  • Hayley Byun, University of Auckland

  • Michael Kennerley, University of Auckland


  • Natalie Oliver-Caldwell, University of Auckland

  • Scott Cameron, University of Auckland

  • Theodore Carlos, University of Auckland

Terms and conditions

  • Winners must attend the event where the Student Award will be recognised to be eligible to receive the cash prize – currently this is scheduled for 8 September 2021. However, in the event this date shifts due to COVID, the winners will be informed and asked to confirm their availability of the new award presentation date. The cash prize will be forfeited if unable to attend. 
  • Transportation costs will be covered for students outside the Auckland region 
  • Winners must consent to their photo, name, employer, LinkedIn profile and university to be published in promotion of this award